Sunday, 10 December 2017

Claudia Álvarez Calderón & Simon Dunbavand "Christmas Spirit" Album of Songs for Coloratura & Organ Recorded at St Andrew's Church Paignton November 2017

Claudia Álvarez Calderón is well known to Soundart Radio. She has appeared on the 'Classical Journey Redux' show many times, often singing a cappella for the enjoyment of Totnes listeners. She has also been heard many times singing at various venues in the town. Last Summer Claudia collaborated with the sensational 'Classical Duo Elegance' of Ekaterina Shetliffe and Yulia Northridge at St Mary's Church Totnes and Lupton House in Paignton. This year Claudia has toured the South Hams providing five lucky villages with a 'Diva on your Doorstep' - accompanied on the piano by Simon Dunbavand.

The delightful coloratura singing of Claudia Álvarez Calderón has now been combined with Simon Dunbavand's subtle and beautiful organ playing, in an album of recordings made at St Andrew's Church in Paignton in November this year. Simon's organ accompaniment provides a very gentle festive atmosphere while Claudia's singing is as spectacular and moving as ever.

Well known favourites from Claudia's Christmas concerts at the Catholic Church in Totnes are included along with some new and equally lovely seasonal songs. Sacred and secular music from many nations for Christmas in one highly enjoyable collection - "Christmas Spirit".

1. Dr Theodore Marier (Organ Arrangement): "A Child is Born"
2. Max Reger: "Maria Wiegenlied"
3. Franz Schubert: "Ave Maria"
4. Johann Sebastian Bach / Charles Gounod: "Ave Maria"
5. Saverio Mercadante: "Salve Maria"
6. Anthony Petti / Michael Pretorius: "Es ist ein Ros Entsprungen" (A Noble Flower of Judah)
7. Traditional 'Vilancico' (Spanish Carol): "Los Peces en el Rio" (The Fishes in the River)
8. St Alphonsus Liguori: "Tu Scendi dalle Stelle" (You Descended from the Stars)
9. Rt Rev James Chadwick: "Les Anges Dans Nos Campagnes" (Angels we have heard on High)
10. Franz Xaver Gruber: "Stille Nacht" (Noche de Paz - Silent Night)
11. Adolphe Adam: "Cantique de Noël" (O Holy Night)

There will be an opportunity to experience 'Diva on your Doorstep', and sample some of the tracks from the new album, at Claudia and Simon's final "Access all Arias" concert at Torre Abbey next Thursday evening. Their new album will be on sale, and is also available from Claudia's Website

Diva on Your Doorstep
Torre Abbey
Thursday 21 December 7.30pm
Baroque to Bernstein
Soprano: Claudia Álvarez Calderón
Piano: Simon Dunbavand
Tickets: £10 (U16 FREE)
Box Office: 07432 231339
Details OnlineClaudia's Website

No comments:

Post a Comment